Home » News

EICMA 2018: 2019 Kawasaki Versys 1000 SE LT+ gets tech and styling updates

Aditya Chatterjee  /
08 Nov 2018 10:57:54 IST

Kawasaki took the EICMA 2018 as a platform to showcase its new 2019 Kawasaki Versys 1000 SE LT+, the largest displacement tourer. The changes that have been done on 2019 Kawasaki Versys 1000 include a revised styling that makes it resemble the new-age Kawasakis. Also, this time around cornering lights have been included in the update. However, the other highlight of the 2019 Kawasaki Versys 1000 SE LT+ is the tech and electronics upgrade.

The 2019 Kawasaki Versys 1000 SE LT+ comes equipped with electronic throttle valves which in turn offers ride-by-wire tech. The tourer now gets a six-axis IMU. Further, Kawasaki is offeringsemi-active Showa suspension that was earlier seen on the ZX-10R SE. These electronically adjustable suspension gets four riding modes to choose from that includes Rain, Road, Sport and Individual. The suspension makes use of the info from the ECU that works in tandem with the IMU.

Then there is the lean-angle sensing ABS offered as standard along with Kawasaki Cornering Management System that helps the motorcycle maintain its position while leaning into a corner. Kawasaki is also offering electronic cruise control as standard on the new Versys that disengages as soon as the TCS senses a sudden intervention.

In terms of design, the2019 Kawasaki Versys 1000 SE LT gets a taller windscreen that overcomes the hurdles of the previous unit which created turbulence in the saddle at higher speeds. The new taller windscreen has a vent to channelise to air flow and also to reduce the back pressure. This one though still gets manual adjustment unlike the electronically adjustable unit seen on some of the motorcycles like the Triumph Tiger. Kawasaki has also updated the instrumentation with an analogue tacho and a full-colour TFT display that looks similar to the one offered on the Kawasaki H2 SX SE. Also, there is smartphone connectivity. Using Kawasaki's app one can get access to the present electronic settings, GPS and also customises the display of the instrumentation.

The 1,043cc engine of theKawasaki Versys 1000 remains unchanged in terms of power and torque figures. The frame and the overall ergonomics of the sports tourer have been carried over from the previous-gen offering. We believe Kawasaki India will launch the2019 Kawasaki Versys 1000 SE LT+ sometime next year. Internationally, it is priced$17,999 that makes it approximately Rs 13.02 lakh (excluding duty and taxes)

Also see,

EICMA 2018: All the news and happenings from Milan at EICMA

  • Aug 09, 08:29 PM (IST)

    That's a wrap on the high-stakes Rajya Sabha elections. Thanks for staying tuned. Follow moneycontrol.com for news, views and updates.


    * Congress' Ahmed Patel wins Rajya Sabha seat from Gujarat
    * Patel received 44 votes, the exact number needed to win the election
    * In late-night drama, Election Commission disqualified votes of two Congress rebels
    * Amit Shah and Smriti Irani also elected to Rajya Sabha

  • Aug 09, 07:30 PM (IST)

    In all, 11 Rajya Sabha members — one from Goa, one from Madhya Pradesh, six from West Bengal and three from Gujarat — were elected.

    FULL REPORT | Rajya Sabha elections: Here who's got elected and re-elected

  • Aug 09, 07:09 PM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 04:35 PM (IST)

    Why Patel's win matters: A defeat could have meant more trouble for the Congress.

  • Aug 09, 03:56 PM (IST)

    West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has also congratulated Ahmed Patel on his victory.

  • Aug 09, 03:01 PM (IST)

    "How much more evidence do we require to understand that we opposition parties are up against a ruthless, finely tuned BJP political machine," Abdullah said.

  • Aug 09, 02:22 PM (IST)

    Former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Omar Abdullah has said that Congress leader Ahmed Patel's win in the Gujarat Rajya Sabha polls "should have never been this difficult" and the opposition needs to introspect and shift strategy to counter the BJP in the 2019 general elections.

  • Aug 09, 02:10 PM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 01:33 PM (IST)

    Senior Congress leader Kamal Nath says the party has always fought back.

  • Aug 09, 01:08 PM (IST)

    Amit Shah is choosing to focus on the third anniversary of his tenure as BJP President, thanking his followers his Twitter for their wishes. He has not yet commented on his Rajya Sabha victory or the BJP candidate's defeat to Ahmed Patel.

  • Aug 09, 12:15 PM (IST)

    There is no confirmation from the BJP yet over whether they will approach the courts over the EC's decision to disallow two votes.

  • Aug 09, 11:43 AM (IST)

    Congress President Sonia Gandhi says she is very happy with Ahmed Patel's victory. "Thank god for the Election Commission," she says.

  • Aug 09, 11:42 AM (IST)

    Senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad says the defeat is a lesson for the BJP and they are free to approach any court.

  • Aug 09, 11:42 AM (IST)

    Kailash Vijayvargiya puts things in perspective. "We have won two seats and Congress only one [in Gujarat], no question of disappointment," the BJP leader tells News18.

  • Aug 09, 10:35 AM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 10:32 AM (IST)

    JD(U) legislator Chhotubhai Vasava is also believed to have voted for Ahmed Patel, defying the party whip.

  • Aug 09, 10:22 AM (IST)

    JD(U) leader Sharad Yadav has congratulated Ahmed Patel on his Rajya Sabha victory. The JD(U) is now part of the NDA, but Yadav has been against the idea.

  • Aug 09, 09:58 AM (IST)

    Meanwhile, six leaders were elected to the Rajya Sabha from West Bengal on Wednesday. Five of them were from the Trinamool Congress -Derek O'Brien, Dola Sen, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, Manas Bhunia, Shanta Chhetri. Pradip Bhattachya of the Congress was also elected to the Upper House. 

  • Aug 09, 09:19 AM (IST)

    Meanwhile, there's been no official reaction from Amit Shah on either his victory or BJP's defeat to Ahmed Patel. He completes three years as BJP President today.

  • Aug 09, 09:17 AM (IST)

    Meanwhile, there's been no official reaction from Amit Shah on either his victory or BJP's defeat to Ahmed Patel. He completes three years as BJP President today.

  • Aug 09, 09:14 AM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 08:31 AM (IST)

    There is speculation that the BJP may approach the courts regarding the Election Commission's decision to disqualify the two votes. We should get some clairty as the day progresses.

  • Aug 09, 08:12 AM (IST)

    In the end, it was two disqualified votes that helped take Ahmed Patel over the line. Here's a recap.

  • Aug 09, 07:55 AM (IST)


    *Congress' Ahmed Patel wins Rajya Sabha seat from Gujarat
    * Patel received 44 votes, the exact number needed to win election
    * In late-night drama, Election Commission disqualified votes of two Congress rebels
    * Amit Shah and Smriti Irani also elected to Rajya Sabha

  • Aug 09, 07:51 AM (IST)

    Ahmed Patel has gone from a low-profile politician to the centre of attention in the past month. Here's a short history of Patel's career.

  • Aug 09, 07:51 AM (IST)

    Why does Patel's win matter so much? Read our report.

  • Aug 09, 07:50 AM (IST)

    After late-night drama that saw Ahmed Patel retain his seat, we can expect to see reactions pour in through the day.

  • Aug 09, 02:25 AM (IST)

    That's all from the Rajya Sabha election for now. Log on to www. moneycontrol.com for coverage of the Rajya Sabha elections during the day. Thanks for staying tuned.

  • Aug 09, 02:17 AM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 02:14 AM (IST)

Find Car/Bike

Subscribe To Newsletter