Home » Reviews

2018 Volkswagen Ameo 1.0 MPI road test review

Rohit Paradkar  /
04 Oct 2018 19:46:06 IST

The downsizing of the drivetrain is the easiest way forward to cut down emissions significantly. Volkswagen for one, definitely understands that as the group hasn't shied away from downsizing engines even in their cars from the premium Audi and Porsche line up. On a much smaller level here in India, it silently replaced the 1.2 naturally aspirated petrol engine in the Polo and the Ameo with a 1.0 MPI engine that had debuted at the 2012 Geneva Motor Show. This engine belongs to the EA211 family of engines from Volkswagen - which includes some peppy direct-injection turbocharged four-cylinder engines, and some frugal, naturally aspirated three-cylinder mills. The 1.0l petrol engine in the Ameo we have here belongs to the three-cylinder kind.

Crank it up and you will instantly notice the vibrations in the pedals and a thrum at idling rpm, both of which are inherent to three-cylinder engines. The vibrations get more pronounced till 1,500rpm, after which everything smoothens out by a fair margin. Volkswagen makes this 1.0l engine in three states of tune ranging between 60PS to 116PS. The one that does duty in the Ameo resides right in between with its 75PS/95Nm output.

While the power figure is on par with that of the outgoing 1.2, there is a 15Nm drop in peak torque. Despite the torque deficit though, there is hardly any noticeable difference in overall drivability. It's claim to fame is its lightweight aluminium architecture that translates into higher fuel efficiency. With a 0-100kmph time of 16.9s, it isn't exactly an eager engine - far from it. But it's forte is city commuting and lazy highway cruising. To that effect, it also gets a cruise control system which works quite well for our legal speeds. Cruising between 80-100kmph in fifth needs between 2,500-3,000rpm. At city speeds, you will often find yourself driving between 1,800-2,500rpm. The relaxed nature of the engine translates into excellent fuel economy. Our tests show almost 14kmpl in the city and over 20kmpl on the highway - which makes the Ameo 1.0 MPI a frugal runabout and more fuel efficient than the 1.2 it replaces.

The engine is mated to a five-speed manual gearbox and the shift gate now follows a more popular layout with the reverse gear selector slotted after the fifth. The gearbox still has a springy clutch lever which can get cumbersome in bumper to bumper traffic. The steering is light though.

Since there is no change to the chassis, the space offered remains unchanged and so does the Ameo's excellent ride quality. It displays taut driving dynamics too, but enthusiastic driving isn't exactly what this car is made for. What it is then, is a frugal commuter and an ideal step up for someone upgrading from an entry-level hatchback.

  • Aug 09, 08:29 PM (IST)

    That's a wrap on the high-stakes Rajya Sabha elections. Thanks for staying tuned. Follow moneycontrol.com for news, views and updates.


    * Congress' Ahmed Patel wins Rajya Sabha seat from Gujarat
    * Patel received 44 votes, the exact number needed to win the election
    * In late-night drama, Election Commission disqualified votes of two Congress rebels
    * Amit Shah and Smriti Irani also elected to Rajya Sabha

  • Aug 09, 07:30 PM (IST)

    In all, 11 Rajya Sabha members — one from Goa, one from Madhya Pradesh, six from West Bengal and three from Gujarat — were elected.

    FULL REPORT | Rajya Sabha elections: Here who's got elected and re-elected

  • Aug 09, 07:09 PM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 04:35 PM (IST)

    Why Patel's win matters: A defeat could have meant more trouble for the Congress.

  • Aug 09, 03:56 PM (IST)

    West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has also congratulated Ahmed Patel on his victory.

  • Aug 09, 03:01 PM (IST)

    "How much more evidence do we require to understand that we opposition parties are up against a ruthless, finely tuned BJP political machine," Abdullah said.

  • Aug 09, 02:22 PM (IST)

    Former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Omar Abdullah has said that Congress leader Ahmed Patel's win in the Gujarat Rajya Sabha polls "should have never been this difficult" and the opposition needs to introspect and shift strategy to counter the BJP in the 2019 general elections.

  • Aug 09, 02:10 PM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 01:33 PM (IST)

    Senior Congress leader Kamal Nath says the party has always fought back.

  • Aug 09, 01:08 PM (IST)

    Amit Shah is choosing to focus on the third anniversary of his tenure as BJP President, thanking his followers his Twitter for their wishes. He has not yet commented on his Rajya Sabha victory or the BJP candidate's defeat to Ahmed Patel.

  • Aug 09, 12:15 PM (IST)

    There is no confirmation from the BJP yet over whether they will approach the courts over the EC's decision to disallow two votes.

  • Aug 09, 11:43 AM (IST)

    Congress President Sonia Gandhi says she is very happy with Ahmed Patel's victory. "Thank god for the Election Commission," she says.

  • Aug 09, 11:42 AM (IST)

    Senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad says the defeat is a lesson for the BJP and they are free to approach any court.

  • Aug 09, 11:42 AM (IST)

    Kailash Vijayvargiya puts things in perspective. "We have won two seats and Congress only one [in Gujarat], no question of disappointment," the BJP leader tells News18.

  • Aug 09, 10:35 AM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 10:32 AM (IST)

    JD(U) legislator Chhotubhai Vasava is also believed to have voted for Ahmed Patel, defying the party whip.

  • Aug 09, 10:22 AM (IST)

    JD(U) leader Sharad Yadav has congratulated Ahmed Patel on his Rajya Sabha victory. The JD(U) is now part of the NDA, but Yadav has been against the idea.

  • Aug 09, 09:58 AM (IST)

    Meanwhile, six leaders were elected to the Rajya Sabha from West Bengal on Wednesday. Five of them were from the Trinamool Congress -Derek O'Brien, Dola Sen, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, Manas Bhunia, Shanta Chhetri. Pradip Bhattachya of the Congress was also elected to the Upper House. 

  • Aug 09, 09:19 AM (IST)

    Meanwhile, there's been no official reaction from Amit Shah on either his victory or BJP's defeat to Ahmed Patel. He completes three years as BJP President today.

  • Aug 09, 09:17 AM (IST)

    Meanwhile, there's been no official reaction from Amit Shah on either his victory or BJP's defeat to Ahmed Patel. He completes three years as BJP President today.

  • Aug 09, 09:14 AM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 08:31 AM (IST)

    There is speculation that the BJP may approach the courts regarding the Election Commission's decision to disqualify the two votes. We should get some clairty as the day progresses.

  • Aug 09, 08:12 AM (IST)

    In the end, it was two disqualified votes that helped take Ahmed Patel over the line. Here's a recap.

  • Aug 09, 07:55 AM (IST)


    *Congress' Ahmed Patel wins Rajya Sabha seat from Gujarat
    * Patel received 44 votes, the exact number needed to win election
    * In late-night drama, Election Commission disqualified votes of two Congress rebels
    * Amit Shah and Smriti Irani also elected to Rajya Sabha

  • Aug 09, 07:51 AM (IST)

    Ahmed Patel has gone from a low-profile politician to the centre of attention in the past month. Here's a short history of Patel's career.

  • Aug 09, 07:51 AM (IST)

    Why does Patel's win matter so much? Read our report.

  • Aug 09, 07:50 AM (IST)

    After late-night drama that saw Ahmed Patel retain his seat, we can expect to see reactions pour in through the day.

  • Aug 09, 02:25 AM (IST)

    That's all from the Rajya Sabha election for now. Log on to www. moneycontrol.com for coverage of the Rajya Sabha elections during the day. Thanks for staying tuned.

  • Aug 09, 02:17 AM (IST)
  • Aug 09, 02:14 AM (IST)

Find Car/Bike

Subscribe To Newsletter